RSS Feed

Spring Forsakenings

Most people look forward to spring. To people with mood issues and to people who live in Anchorage, it’s just another day in Mar a Lago but without the green, the golf and, thank God, the president.

My winter was okay, plenty of cross country skiing and skating, employment, fun. When spring comes to Alaska the winter sports end and the waiting begins. Waiting for summer because spring is a mess just like my head.  This photo sums it up.life.png

This is what snow looks like after the spring plowing exposes it to the light. Layers  of  snowflakes crushed  into prickly ice mixed with months of dirt. That’s what I feel like right now. More like layers of ice cream crushed into bitterness mixed with months of black mood morsels.

Spring cheer is not based on a date or on the return of sunlight. It’s rooted in hope and opportunity.  I like to go on walks but this is what greets me.

walk

Icy hills North or South are my only alternatives. Deathtrap. Stay inside. Eat. Mope

But if I do I miss the view at the top.

street.png

Or what’s on the other side.

icey

The little birds are back despite the ice. The geese and gulls are waiting. The actually greening will occur in early May over one short week. Until then I will keep my car plugged in and trudge on.

 

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

2 responses »

  1. It’s ugly out there isn’t it? Great pictures and words.

    Reply
  2. For the twenty years I lived in Northern Alaska and spring was to me not very pretty. The dirty snow as you have shown only is the tip of what is revealed as the snow melts. In and around the cities and villages the melting snow reveals errant trash that was either discarded or blown off of vehicles marring a normally picturesque landscape. Thanks for a ‘revealing’ post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

