RSS Feed

Obama Fever tears through Anchorage

I was hoping there were going to be crowds of people downtown like the last time I was in New York City and the pope was due but Anchorage looks deserted tonight. It could be the bitter wind but it is more likely that Anchorage people hate traffic and they are scared of Obama-gedden.

I had rehearsal in the banquet room of old Sunshine mall building which  has a great view of The Weekend Market.  A few businesses had put up American flags which I think is a nice touch.  About a half hour into rehearsal we noticed that police cars were building up in the area.  Our director allowed the stage manager to keep a lookout for Obama. About 7:30 pm she started yelling as a motorcade of  6 SUV’s and vans came speeding down 3rd Ave.

A couple of hours later, I saw the police build up there again.  I think we got faked the first time. That may have been either a practice run or John Kerry coming in from the Air Force base. Nothing against Kerry but it was not that impressive a motorcade and none of those cars looked like “The Beast” as described in the paper today.

The Beast

The Beast

I stopped at the grocery store on my way home and told my story to the checkout clerk. He got very excited and then sad because he really wants to meet Obama. I know how he feels.  He is the rock star of my generation.  Forget Madonna and Michael Jackson,(all about the same age.) Sure they impacted the world with their music but this man makes me proud to be an American. I am proud to be living in a city where he is visiting  and really hope he sees a moose. A photo of Obama and a moose would be worth framing.

I once worked at The Graduate Theological Union who hosted both The Dalai Lama and Jean Paul Aristide as guests. I was excited to see them but not as excited as I am about Obama. The Dalai Lama is  humorous guy but he has a big fan club. The Obama fan club is smaller up here. Maybe I have a little crush on Obama. Don’t tell Michelle!

Since most people in Alaska could care less about Obama I think downtown will be pretty empty tomorrow. I will be within a couple of blocks of him while I pick up some things from the office. That may be as good as it gets. I hope anyone who sees him will post their Obama sightings  just like when they filmed that awful movie about the serial killer last year and people kept track of Nicholas Cage.

I keep writing because I can hardly sleep.  Maybe if David Tennant or Peter Capaldi came to town I might be equally jazzed.  I may have to surrender my hopes and be happy to see Mr. Kerry or one of the other dignitaries. Maybe I will just be lucky enough to get wanded by a nice secret service person. More on Close Encounters of The Obama kind tomorrow.

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

3 responses »

  1. All the best to you. I’m not sure I could take the time off – even for Eccleston.

    Reply
  2. I hope you see President Obama. One of my friends is a journalist with a press pass to cover the conference. How excited she is. She parked at my place (close to downtown) at 6 a.m. so she didn’t have parking issues.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

