RSS Feed

Good Friday Cakes and candies!

Posted on

Easter Candy has gotten out of control! It’s been jumping into my mouth unbidden for weeks. Tomorrow is Good Friday and I must stop. Unfortunately, I’ve discovered that, living in Alaska, I have missed an entire dimension of sweeties – Good Friday treats!  As I was waiting at Walgreens for my antidepressants I saw these.

Theologically illogical

Theologically illogical

As you know, the cross is a symbol of Good Friday. Easter is after the cross. Easter is The Resurrection and the Easter Bunny, Eggs, Peeps etc.

But these are mass marketed goods. There are much better choices if you choose to celebrate Good Friday with a snack.

Still time to whip some of these up for the work crew tomorrow

Still time to whip some of these up for the work crew tomorrow

Or if you want to impress people with you religious authenticity you might want to purchase one of these.

artisanal Crucifixion

artisanal Crucifixion

It may not be 85% cacao but I think eating it would keep me up all night. If you want something a little more light hearted, how about these?

Fashion Forward Friday!

Fashion Forward Friday!

This one needs no explanation, or at least none that I can give you.

Pretzel jesus

Pretzel Jesus

I will spare you the cake pops and Cross pops, particularly the baby blue white chocolate versions which I pray are not blueberry or, worse still, razzleberry flavored. Instead let’s move right to the cakes! Here is one which I give points not only for its sincerity but for its execution, no pun intended.

Classy

Classy

Technically this is a Christmas cake but just a change the birthday greeting to something referring to his death would make it work.

Lucky for you, I have been doing my research and have located the treasure trove of Good Friday and Religiously themed cakes on the web. You will love the use of a chocolate chip cookie as the stone rolled away from the tomb. Check it out!

http://blogs.phoenixnewtimes.com/bella/2013/03/jesus_cakes_easter_fail.php

Happy Good Friday. You really should do The Stations of The Cross this year to make up for all these calories. Don’t forget your Fitbit!

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

4 responses »

  1. I haven’t seen anything like this over here in the UK. Plenty of Eggs and decorated cup cakes, but no crosses apparent. Tradition in our household for Good Friday was hot cross buns, but even those have had the ‘cross’ removed and are just currant buns in a different wrapper.

    Reply
    • We are so over the top on this side of the pond. You would think every day was an excuse to eat sweets, at least I do. I was a bit taken back by the candy crucifix.

      Reply
  2. Ha, for my job I had to put my computer in safety mode so I was not able to watch the video but I will undo the safety mode as soon as I safely can!

    Reply
  3. Hey what about a cake for mary magadalene ? – she is my #2 favorite on Good Friday Not sure what she looked like though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

