RSS Feed

Merry eccentric Christmas

I live in a house with a chain link fence. This has  influenced the way I live my life. There are no pretenses behind chain link. My neighborhood is home to many duplex apartments which are identical in design. None of us are rich, all of us put some effort but very little money into decorating our yards.

I focused on my fence this year because it is so unpretentious,  so un-white picket, like me.  I don’t know why I’ve made the choices I’ve made. I don’t own a house, have kids or a spouse. I don’t even own a cat which is really surprising for a woman who spent many years working in libraries. The fence is a homely scaffolding for my approximation of holiday cheer.  The decorating process was quick but fun. It doesn’t require computer synchronization or air blowers although some food coloring and balloons to create the ice globes. Also bleach wipes to clean up the mess from trying to tie up spurting crazy colored water balloons.

Away in a manger, a planter for his bed

Away in a manger, a planter for his bed

There are planters on each side with …. Angels!

A big old fluffy angel from the second hand store looking over my house

A big old fluffy angel from the second hand store looking over my house

christmas on w 19th - 7

Not really an angel  but shiny!

My Christmas wishes hanging on the fence

My Christmas wishes hanging on the fence

Snow globes!

Snow globes!

When balloons backfire

When balloons backfire

Merry eccentric Christmas to you!

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

3 responses »

  1. joan, how beautiful, simple and SYMBOLIC – the little baby Jesus, whose rod and staff will break the chains that tie us to this earth , AMEN! And being born in a planter is SO much better (esoteric, the way they like it) than being born in a manger -straw is very messy and itchy – Jesus, born on this eath bu not “rooted” in it – something like that. Joan, I know God was working through you during this event – you may not have known this – that’s the way it works!

    Reply
  2. Our cups sure do runneth over, don’t they?

    Reply
  3. Love it. And as your fence is chain link, just think of how it’ll sparkle with the frost and ice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

