RSS Feed

Iditarod Fever/Flu

Posted on

I thought I was feeling well enough to check out the Iditarod. I was not. I don’t really care about the dogs, I just hate missing any free event where people dress up and are happy. Pardon me if my photos are a bit strange, I was out of it and spent the rest of the day in bed shaking like a chihuahua.

Not a Chiuahua, and not shaking

Not a Chihuahua, and not shaking

This is a great coat and few people have the figure to pull it off like this man. I like the suggestion of an evil face and perhaps the nub of a tail.

IMG_0069This coat is also gorgeous and is set off well by the gentleman’s purse.  Iditarod is a bit like an Easter parade here. People love to break out their bonnets.

High fashion

High fashion

Sitting on dad’s shoulders is better than wearing high heels. I wore my fake fur hat last year. This year I followed the trend in faux animal headgear again.

I look a bit ill but at least I have a good hat

I look a bit ill but at least I have a good hat

There was an icy fog yesterday that made things seem colder than they really were.

You could definately see your breath

You could definately see your breath

Some people like to be colder than that so they go to the carnival.

Cheap thrills and big chills

Cheap thrills and big chills

Yes those are flying swings on the right. These are probably outlawed in every other state of the Union due to their propensity to fly off into the crowd and kill  people. Luckily it isn’t too crowded here.

For those of you who like art, there is plenty of it in downtown.  In order to avoid dog sleds I walked down an alley and noticed several murals I liked.

Big bird smackdown

Big bird smackdown.

A lot going on here

A lot going on here

If you like your art quick and dirty, there are snow sculptures.  I refuse to show you the largest one which is of Christ being heaved up on the cross. Someone thought they were doing us a favor. Maybe they do Jesus in chocolate and marshmallow too.

Red Bull

Red Bull

I added a some artificial coloring to make this more energetic. The next one is perhaps more tame but  made me laugh. A family came by and one parent noted that the snowmen were like people gathered around the theatre. Then the child retorted, “Some of them are dead.”

Anchorage landmark, with corpses

Anchorage landmark, with corpses

That was the best line of the day so I went home. I stopped at The Fire Island Bakery on the way home and got a $5.00 cupcake. I’ve never had a cupcake that expensive before. It was a big one, like a jumbo muffin – red velvet, kind of crusty on the outside with ground pistachio paste injected inside and a cream cheese/whipped cream frosting.   Yummy. I was still sick but I felt better for a minute.

Iditarod treat

Iditarod treat

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

Leave a Reply

