RSS Feed

2012 – from my cell phone

I took a look at photos I hadn’t used in my blog and a few I had that were still sitting on my cell phone card. I was reminded of what a fine year 2012 was for art, for rain, for travel and fun in general.
Here are a few reminders.

I went to Minneapolis for a conference and became aware that Anchorage was not the center of the Universe. The art was like drinking pomegranate juice after having nothing but Pepsi for a year.

The best art challenges the status quo - African print debutante gown

The best art challenges the status quo – African print debutante gown

Some Minneapolis school children were out celebrating their Native American heritage. It reminded me that people are resilient. Cultures can go underground but are carried inside us until they are safe to express.

What this lake looked like before the white people

What this lake looked like before the white people

After white people

After white people

Back in Anchorage I witnessed a short parade, part of a religious festival for the Filipino community. I hadn’t seen a pageant like this since we had May Day parades for The Virgin Mary in my childhood.

0616121051a

A celebration of Our Lady – Filipino style

It was a year for remembering childhood. Our classmate Dan Goodwin died, as did his father. There were memorial services and a 35th class reunion. Things change. The parents of our generation are nearly gone. Our generation will be next. It’s already starting. Our time together is more obviously limited.

Some things remain the same. The spirits of the young, the old, the living and dead may find solace in the shoreline. I try to visit Singing Beach each time I return to Manchester by the Sea.  I loved it as a child and as a teen. As an adult I find myself lost amongst the strangers who with my myopic vision remind me of people I used to know. I only find my 8 year old self when I enter the ocean.

Who walked here before?

Who walked here ?

A few things have changed. My mother used to work with Lillian Theriault at the bathhouse. They would give you a number, you would get a basket to put your clothes in and they would guard it all day. My sister Beth and I worked at the canteen selling hotdogs and popsicles. This is what they sell there now.

Would you like a tubesteak with your Orso?

Would you like a tubesteak with your Orzo?

Then there was the rain, and more rain. Anchorage had a very wet summer and fall. It was a little depressing as this is the time we like to stock up on Vitamin D.

Chester Creek trail

Chester Creek trail

With a long cold snap in November,  very little snow and warming back to normal in December we now have ice overflow all over the trails making them  pretty messy but that doesn’t stop most folks from sliding through. The ice is so thick in this tunnel now that I have to duck my head to walk through.

We lost a strange neighbor, The Sunrise Bakery, owned by Hostess. This was a home to most of the city’s pigeon population who had been staging an Occupy movement in the front dumpster for many years.  We have a couple of newer, smaller, better bakeries nearby so I can’t say I’ll miss the Sunrise much. I did like the sign though, especially on a day where the sun didn’t come up until 10:30 or so.

Wake up everyone, someone baked the Twinkies!

Wake up everyone, someone baked the Twinkies!

Then there was The City of Anchorage’s Zombie Emergency Preparation videos which got me interested in making some shorts of my own. Theatre is a wonderful thing but I have never quite thrived in it. My creativity is the only thing I brought to the table. I’m getting older and work full-time so my energy is more limited. I have to deal with the non-profit which pays me so my tolerance for the institutional limitations of theater companies is limited.  It turns out that I’m more of a clown/ comedian/satirist than an actor, so sue me.

And I photograph well!

And I photograph well!

No pay for the zombie video but they did serve us lunch.

No pay for the zombie video but they did serve us lunch.

I went to Juneau near the end of the year for The Alaska Peer Consortium meeting and fell in love with Alaska again just when I needed it. Juneau hosts our cute little state legislature, and apparently karaoke as well. It’s very beautiful.

Just up the street from the legislature

Just up the street from the legislature

Our legislature only convenes for Jan-May so I had the House to myself.

Our legislature only convenes for Jan-May so I had the House to myself.

It was good to see the economy  is doing better down there.  Our new focus at work is finding jobs for people in recovery so I found the following ad encouraging.  Now if I can just find someone who is okay with relocating.

There is hope!

There is hope!

Most everything else I covered in earlier posts, the rowing, the staph infection, whooping cough, roommate angst, computer snafus. The world didn’t end so I guess it’s just going to change, either that or I’m going to.  I’ll be back.

About polarflares

My head is so big because it has so many holes and air gets in.

Leave a Reply

